there were two muffins in an oven…

I have this really close friend who has been feeling a little “down in the dumps” lately. Even though I hate that term, she has had good reason for feeling this way. Maybe you too have found yourself in this position, or you could be like my friend Brandon who after surviving a very long series of unfortunate events is curious if God is trying to teach him patience. Or maybe you are like my former roommate Mary. Something happened to her and she had to go back to the store to buy more milk. ( There is so much more to that story, but I have been busy grading papers and writing senseless blogs so I haven’t called her back to hear the rest. Hi Mary! stop reading this and listen to the prof.) 

So I was thinking about what I do when I am feeling down, and I have compiled a short list. You can create your own or feel free to sample mine if you ever find yourself having a “less than blessed” day.

1. watch a ridiculously cheesy movie (I suggest Just Married, Just Friends, Dumb and Dumber, or Camp Nowhere) It has to be one that doesn’t take any brain function to watch.
2. Buy a pint of Ben and Jerry’s Half Baked Frozen Yogurt and eat some, or all, of it.
3. Read Leviticus. Ok, that was a joke. But, ice cream and the bible do go together very well especially on the aforementioned days. Maybe look up the word Joy in the back and flipping through the verses.
4. DANCE. even if the music is inappropriate. (like the music my roommate works out to.  (jk) 

So I realize that this is a very condensed list and I am sure that I could come up with more things, but I will leave you with just this one. This video has brought me great joy for many years. When It was a commercial on tv it made me fall onto the floor once, and I do remember spending a great amount of time at Taylor watching this video with Andrew Dawdy so you know it’s worth it. So, Cheers to you whom are Down in the Dumps (whatever that means.)

One thought on “there were two muffins in an oven…

I love comments!

