back to that same old place, sweet home Chicago

I have a confession. I lied in my last post. I didn’t really go to the mountains this weekend. (I’m sorry for my momentary dishonesty.) It was all in good fun though because the truth is that I went to Chicago to surprise Brandon for his birthday. 
First of all I just want to say that I love Chicago. I have loved it since I was a little girl. I am 24 now and still when we drive close to the buildings downtown I still gaze up at them like I am 7. I love deep dish pizza and how scared/thrilled I get when everyone on the street is honking at each other for an array of reasons. With that said, there is one major downfall to the windy city (yes I know it isn’t called that because of the weather.) It’s freezing, and I don’t mean like “Bundle up kids it’s a little chilly out.” I mean, “Put on your gloves or you might lose a finger” cold. My teeth chattered and I was frozen to my bones for most of the weekend but I figure if that is my only complaint then the weekend was an overall success.
Here is the rundown/list of things from the weekend and then I will get to the good stuff….
motorcycle ride to a fantastic chicago style hot dog place called “hot dougs” (clever right?)
deep dish pizza from a place that looked like the final chinese restaurant scene in “a christmas story”
high school musical 3….not as good as the first one but enjoyable nonetheless
euchre and egyptian rat screw
the shedd aquarium (soooo fun)
navy pier and bubba gump shrimp
kung foo panda
church
apple pie for lunch 🙂
plane ride home
 
It was seriously a great weekend. Seriously….

3 thoughts on “back to that same old place, sweet home Chicago

  1. Yes!! After you left that one comment I was like hmm…what’s that? If I were to be completely honest, I would say that my new secret goal in life is to be a “missed connections” person. You know, to just start reading it one day and then be like OMG that was me!” 🙂

  2. Can I also say a hearty amen to your comment about how COLD Chicago is??? I remember last New Years Brandon was making fun of me, and I said, “you don’t understand, it is just so much colder here!!!” Which obviously seems ridiculous to him because I live directly east of Chicago. But seriously…it’s cold. Way cold.

I love comments!

