whistle while you work

I like Lent. I don’t love it, but I like it. I remember the first time I heard about Lent. I think I was in first grade and my friend Erin told me she was giving up chocolate for lent and the girl across the table asked me what I was giving up and I said “I’m giving up chocolate too.” I had no idea what Lent was then, and I didn’t actually give up chocolate, and I haven’t since. 

I grew up around a lot of catholics which has formed me into someone who appreciates advent, lent, reverent weddings, communion, and friday night fish fries. I started truly giving things up for Lent in college. I don’t remember all of the things I have given up but I do know that they have ranged from pop, to facebook, to last year’s music in the car. I know that I’m not catholic so I don’t necessarily have to do it but I feel that it teaches me something. I think it’s important for me to feel tempted/overcome temptation for a month or so before the celebration of Easter. It’s important for me to know that i can survive without the things that consume me other than the love of Christ. 

WIth all that said, I think I’m going to give up laziness this year. (I know….weird) I haven’t quite decided what that looks like yet but I think it starts with not staying up late for no reason, watching less tv, spending less time online, staying later at school to get ahead, getting my rear into the gym more than three times a week. I know that it isn’t necessarily “giving up” anything, but honestly, ashamed as I am to admit this, I have turned into quite the procrastinating, half-a$$ed procrastinator. I’m sure it isn’t as bad as I make it out to be, but I have been learning a lot lately about the immense amount of things that the Lord can do in you and through you if you are growing, learning, and giving him a chance, and I haven’t been. So it’s time, to get out of bed earlier to spend more time with Jesus, to spend an extra few minutes at school to make sure I am the teacher God wants me to be, and to take care of myself physically by getting enough sleep at night. I’m excited to see what happens, and I’ll keep you updated on the progress. 

So what are your plans? Giving something up? Just thinking about it? Don’t care? Share your thoughts.

One thought on “whistle while you work

  1. The pirated version was actually good 🙂 And yes, I really liked it. I watched it again with my parents and will probably go see it next week!

I love comments!

