You’re the bee’s knees. part one.

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, 
      for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. 

No matter how great I think I am. No matter how much I think I can do. No matter how good I make others feel. I am nothing, nothing, nothing, nothing, without Jesus. Without him I deserve death, and because of him I have life.

 Blessed are those who mourn, 
      for they will be comforted. 

Now that I know I am nothing, my heart is broken for the sin in me. For the way I have treated you, for the way I have turned my back on you, and for the way my heart hasn’t broken for the things that break yours. I’m so sorry father for falling short so often of what you desire from me. 

 Blessed are the meek, 
      for they will inherit the earth. 

I know I am filled with the power that has raised Christ from the dead, but in striving to be meek, I will not boast or brag about that power, and I will live humbly in knowing that power is not from myself.

 Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, 
      for they will be filled. 

Because I know that I am nothing without Jesus, and have mourned of my sin and have become meek and humbled, Lord  show me what it means to hunger for what you have for me, help me to hunger and thirst to know what’s it like to know you and be like you, help me to fear what’s it would be like to not feel your presence. 

 

You see, for the longest time I thought the beattitudes were about someone else far away. The orphans and missionaries, the widows, and the starving. Now I know the beatittudes are about us. About each of us. They are a personal journey that we should be striving to go through. After each one comes the next. When you realize the first, the next falls in line. They are a sequence of events that are not easy to face but each is followed with a reward greater than we can fathom…are you ready for a journey?

One thought on “You’re the bee’s knees. part one.

I love comments!

