2k13

I spent a lot of time thinking about what my resolutions for 2013 should be.
And if 2012 taught me anything it’s that no matter how good your plans are or how determined you are to stick to them….something else is probably going to happen.
I didn’t say something bad is going to happen, just something…. unplanned.
So I didn’t make any formal resolutions, but that’s not to say that I didn’t dream a little about what I hope to see in 2013.

Here are a few things that amidst the inevitable surprises, I am praying will abound in the Wong household this year.

laughter

Our mouths were filled with laughter,
our tongues with songs of joy.
Then it was said among the nations,
“The Lord has done great things for them.”
Psalm 126:2

I hope that in this year we fill our lives with adventure. That we don’t say no to things to avoid hassle. I hope we travel a bit near and far, and do some things on a whim, while meticulously planning some others, and I hope that when times do inevitable get hard or stressful that we can find the joy in what we have been given and learn to laugh in the midst of life, not to make light of things that are truly hard but to genuinely enjoy each other and the moments we get to share.

restI realize that rest may seem like the opposite of adventure. And it may also seem like the plea of a sleep deprived mother. (maybe it is, just a little) But I hope that you can hear my heart on this one and know what I mean is rest in the sense of not letting the hustle and bustle of life keep us from soaking up ALL the moments. Rest is not, checking my facebook while doing the dishes, while chasing the dogs, while Judah sits in the jump jump minding his own business. Rest is sitting on the floor while Judah sits and giggles and the dogs run around us and the dirty dishes sit in the sink for just a little bit longer. Do you see what I am saying? It’s letting the small stuff be the small stuff in my heart, and letting the big stuff be the big stuff.

love

If I speak in human or angelic tongues, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.
1 Corinthians 13:1-3

I pray that we feel, show, and bask in some serious love this year.

Ok so I hope this wasn’t too much cheese. Happy 2013! (only 18 days late, no big thang)

I love comments!

