Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

I saw something on pinterest once (so many of my sentences start this way…sigh)
It said stressed is desserts spelled backwards.
That’s true. But I am not sure it applies to me.
I wish I only ate dessert when I was stressed.
Wait, not I don’t. I love desserts.
Namely cookies.
Not a lot of things make me happier than a large warm chocolately cookie.
Seriously, ask my husband. I have a problem.
Well, I wouldn’t necessarily call it that. My extra ten pounds might though.

Forging onward,
Last week was AWESOME.
We got to see Kristin and Brian, (my brother and sister in law) and our sweet niece Illy on Monday and Tuesday.
Then, Brandon’s parents, his brother Jordan, Kristin, and Illy all came back on Sunday for Judah’s dedication at church.
The thing is, this week has been stressful. And in light of how awesome last week was, it’s been quite a bummer.
So what do you blog about when life is stressful and you don’t really feel like talking about that
or about anything else for that matter?

{Image via thenatos.com and so is the recipe, so if you are going to pin this, go there and do it from the source pleeeeaaasssse. Thanks.}

{Image via thenatos.com and so is the recipe, so if you are going to pin this, go there and do it from the source pleeeeaaasssse. Thanks.}

 

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

I would be lying if I said these cookies weren’t delicious. They are soft and gooey, and if you do it right and scoop them huuuuge (like ice cream scooper huge) onto the pan, they can be your breakfast. And perhaps your lunch,
and maybe even your dinner.

You’re gonna need…..
1 stick of butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 Tbs vanilla
1/2 tsp ground coffee
1/4 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 egg
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1 1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup chocolate chips

 here’s what you do:

in kitchen aid (if you have one congratulations, if you don’t, no biggie), cream butter and sugar together.

add vanilla, coffee, chili powder, salt and soda. mix on speed 2 until incorporated.

add egg and mix.

add flour and cocoa and mix.

then add chocolate chips. (I use semi sweet cause I love them but any kind will do I suppose)

 scoop them big onto the pan. big.

 bake at 350 for 10 minutes.
They will still be a tad gooey but if you let them sit for a bit on the pan they will cook a bit more.

So here’s to a lot of prayer and a few one big cookie really turning this week around.
Enjoy.

I love comments!

