I made the switch.

I don’t think it’s any secret that I read a lot of blogs.

A Lot of blogs.

sorry, ok not sorry.

The blogs I read regularly fall into 1 of 2 categories;

beautiful christian women who either; write beautiful words/ are hilarious/ make beautiful handmade items/ or all of the above,

or food. because I love food, but I don’t feel like I should have to say that. Who doesn’t love food?

All of this to say, I have used google reader for quite some time now to keep track of all of these blogs.

When Brandon introduced me to Google Reader I couldn’t believe how wonderful it was. I wanted to kiss it. I still do. but as of July 1st it’s going away. womp womp.

So I looked up my options and narrowed it down to two that seemed the most comparable to old faithful.

They were feedly and bloglovin. I plugged in the 66 blogs I read in to both. yes 66. 66 blogs, 66 books of the bible. coincidence? absolutely. And lets be real, some of these blogs are personal friends of mine who never update. ever.

My conclusion…. both feedly and bloglovin are great alternatives.

Here are my rundowns of both, and in case you haven’t caught on, these pictures have nothing to do with anything, I just like them.

Feedly: is the most like google reader. It lists them all there together so you can see them all in kind of a “spreadsheet” format just like google reader does. If you have your blogs categorized into groups on google reader when you switch to feedly it doesn’t keep them that way so you will have to regroup them which isn’t the biggest deal. Also like google reader, you read the blog posts within the reader on kind of a blank page. So if you want to pretend like google reader never went away and get the one that is most like it in appearance and mostly function. Feedly is your jam.

Bloglovin: is different in appearance than google reader. The home page is a column of screenshots from each blog post that you can scroll through but you can still click specific blogs on the side bar like reader if you wish. So aesthetically more pleasing in my opinion but very different from reader in that way. The other thing that makes bloglovin much different than reader is that you get to read the blogs from their own source. So you get to see all the pretty designs your favorite bloggers have created. It’s like visiting their homes on the Internet. And for me that was what google reader was missing. So if you like the idea of actually seeing each blogger’s design, bloglovin is for you.

I would say its easy enough to try them both so that’s what you should do to see what you like. I ended up landing on bloglovin and I really like it but to each his own in the reader world.

If you are interested in seeing the blogs I read most, ( no not all 66 are there, it’s a few faves that I rarely skip over) head on up there to the blogroll tab and click around. I am pretty sure you won’t regret it.

 

4 thoughts on “I made the switch.

  1. This is fantastic! I’ve been using feedly because some big blogger said it’s what I should use, but I never checked out bloglovin at all. The idea of actually “seeing” the whole blog is really appealing so I’m off to see what that’s all about. Thanks!

I love comments!

